neat vs straight up
When I went to Bartending school, I learned > that straight up is straight into the glass without ice. The same is true no matter the type of liquor. I'm a chemist, and when we say "neat" in the lab we mean a fluid is put in a vessel without anything added to it. Finally! A twist is a thin piece of citrus peel that the bartender twists over the drink to express the flavorful citrus oils into it. With dozens of deal categories offering unforgettable local experiences, travel dealsproductsand servicesin cities all over, we have everything you need to save money and Any thoughts on that suggestion? But some people might not know, or just not hear in a noisy bar. Just the facts." I'd never heard anyone say "neat" until I moved from Glasgow to the states. Oceanside, California: Bartenders America, Inc. p. 106. So in Japan, they always say "straight". "Straight up" always gets me shaken with ice then drained off. So what will you actually get if you order your whiskey straight up? National Bartending Center Instruction Manual. For example it would be inaccurate to refer to a Cosmopolitan as being served straight up as it contains lime juice, cranberry, juice, and Cointreau. Please review, This page was last edited on 26 July 2020, at 08:23. But I feel I've seen the same issue where people don't know what neat means in Tokyo. a subreddit for Scotch enthusiasts of all walks of life and of all levels of knowledge on anything Scotch Whisky related. Here are some examples: "Bartender, a whiskey neat with a water back. I drink my whisky neat. —BarrelProof (talk) 19:53, 27 June 2012 (UTC), OK, I moved it (and linked it to the {{Bartend}} table). (2002). If he or she gives you a funny look, try ordering it chilled instead. As it stands, I have little confidence that the distinction being made is justified.--Srleffler (talk) 04:48, 10 October 2008 (UTC). Link to post Share on other sites. Press J to jump to the feed. During a conversation, I mentioned that I pr